NMEA4Wifi NMEA Input

Discussion and support for the Nmea4Wifi multiplexer - a 4-input Nmea 0183 wifi multiplexer.
Post Reply
sagwin
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:53 am

NMEA4Wifi NMEA Input

Post by sagwin » Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:20 pm

Hi Luis,

just received the multiplexer :D and now I am fiddling around with the wiring.

Regarding the output of the multiplexer, I am not sure how to find out if my furuno GP31 GPS has an opto-isolated input or not. Do you have a hint where I can get this info from?

Thx

Regards,

Julian

Luis Sa
Site Admin
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 4:12 am

Re: NMEA4Wifi NMEA Input

Post by Luis Sa » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:21 pm

Hello Julian,

Are you pretending to send data from the multiplexer to your Furuno GPS unit? Or the reverse? Note that with Nmea0183 you can have only this:

one talker sending data to one (or more if the talker has sufficient drive capability) listener

Normally a GPS sends data, that is to say, it acts as a talker.

I could not find information about your GPS. If you want send me a drawing of what you trying to achieve.

Regards, Luis

sagwin
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:53 am

Re: NMEA4Wifi NMEA Input

Post by sagwin » Thu Feb 14, 2019 8:44 am

Hi Luis,

attached a drawing of my wiring, the wiring map of the GPS/plotter and a glossary for the wiring terms.
I would like to connect the output of the multiplexer with the input of my Furuno GP31 to be able to track the route and waypoints, which I set in my app also on the display of the Furuno GP31.

Additional question:
I set up the windows tool on my Laptop and connected to the NMEA4Wifi network, which worked fine. I also could update the firmware. However, I was not able to receive the AP data. Checking my wifi, I am connected with the mutiplexer and the firewall allows communication through all ports and protocols. What could still be missing?

Thanks for your help.

Regards,

Julian
Attachments
Furuno GP31 Glossary für Verbindungsdiagramm der Bedienungsanleitung.docx
(14.39 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Furuno_wiring.JPG
wiring.jpg

Luis Sa
Site Admin
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 4:12 am

Re: NMEA4Wifi NMEA Input

Post by Luis Sa » Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:24 pm

Hello Julian,

I am sorry not to comment on your post earlier. I hope that you were able to sort out your wiring. Here my late comments:

1. The safe way is to use A5 and GND on the Nmea4Wifi output. It should work without problems. To use A5 and B5 you would need to be sure that the Foruno input is opto-isolated. And for the usual distances of less than 10 meters between the talker and listener there will be little difference with regard to noise reduction.

2. When you say " receive the AP data", I assume you mean receive data transmitted by the multiplexer over its own network (default SSID = NMEA4WIFI). If that is so and since you were able to communicate with the multiplexer (and update the firmware) you need to check all your settings. There are many unknowns. Were you using UDP or TCP? Which data are you transmitting? I am sorry but the only thing I can say is try to advance by little steps. I admit that the tool could be confuse but you can do powerful tests with it. You can do, for example, a loop back by Wifi, reading a file, sending it out from the PC to the multiplexer, set the multiplexer to send it back to the PC, save the received data into a file and, in the end, compare the original file withe the received file. I used the tool extensively during the tests.

Once more my apologies for the delay in the answer. You can always contact me directly at luis at vela-navega dot com.

Regards, Luis

Post Reply